Print Page

Native American Law

Tribal Law & Governance

 Brackel, Samuel J. American Indian tribal courts: the costs of separate justice. American Bar Foundation, 1978. [KF8224 .C6 B7]

Constitutions and laws of the American Indian tribes: series 1. 20 vols. Wilmington, Del: Scholarly Resources, 1973. [KF8228 ...] Contains the basic legal documents of the following tribes:

  • vol. 1-2 Chickasaw Nation
  • vol. 3-4 Osage Nation
  • vol. 5-10 Cherokee Nation
  • vol. 11-17 Choctaw Nation
  • vol. 18 Muskogee Nation
  • vol. 18-20 Creek Nation

Constitutions and laws of the American Indian tribes: series 2. 33 vols. Wilmington, Del: Scholarly Resources, 1975. [KF8228 ...] Contains the basic legal documents of the following tribes:

  • vol. 1-7 Cherokee Nation
  • vol. 8-12 Chickasaw Nation
  • vol. 11,13-26 Choctaw Nation
  • vol. 27-30 Creek Nation (Muskogee Nation)
  • vol. 31 Osage Nation
  • vol. 31 Fox Nation
  • vol. 31 Sac Nation
  • vol. 32-33 Indian Territory. General Council

Indian Territory. General Council, Journal of the ...annual session of the General Council of the Indian Territory : composed of delegates duly elected from the Indian tribes legally resident therein assembled in Council at Okmulgee, Indian Territory. Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources, 1975. [E98 .P75 I53]

Meredith, Howard L. Modern American Indian tribal government and politics. Tsaile, Ariz.: Navajo Community College Press, 1993. [E98 .P75 M47 1993

Native Americans: a legal/historical collection. Jerry Dupont, compiler. Law Library Microform Consortium, 1990. [MICROFICHE] Consult this bibliographical catalog to gain access to LLMC's Native American microfiche collection of 1,668 titles. Our library has recently acquired this collection, which includes the basic legal documents of many Indian tribes.

Navajo law reporter. Window Rock, Ariz.: T&B Publishing, c1993- [KF 8228 .N3 A5 1993]

Navajo Nation. Navajo Nation code. 6 looseleaf vols. New York: Lamb Studio, 1995- Prepared by the Office of Legislative Council of the Navajo Nation Council. [KF8228 .N3 A5 1995]

Navajo Nation practice book. Window Rock, Ariz.: T&B Publishing, c1993- [KF8224 .C6 N38 1993]

Navajo Tribe. Navajo Tribal code. 4 vols. Orford, NH: Equity Publishing Co., c1978. [KF8228 .N3 A5 1978a]  "Contains the general and permanent provisions of the resolutions of the Navajo Tribal Council and its Advisory Committee."

O'Brien, Sharon. American Indian Tribal Governments. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, c.1989. [E98.P75 O27 1989]