Native American Law

The materials listed in this Guide include most of the publications found in the library catalog under the subject heading, Indians of North America. For materials on a specific Indian tribe, consult the subject catalog under the name of the tribe. See for example: Dakota Indians, Iroquois Indians, or Oneida Indians. To facilitate browsing through the library's Native American materials, check the shelves under these classification numbers:

• E 90-99 History
• KE 7701-7710 Canadian Indian Law
• KF 8201-8228 United States Indian Law
• Z 1209-1210 Bibliographies

To conduct a complete search of the resources in our library, do not forget to consult the Native American Law microfiche collection. This collection contains over 100 treatises that have not yet been added to the library catalog. The bibliographical catalog that accompanies the set permits browsing by author, subject, place, title, and tribe name. One copy of the Native American Collection catalog is shelved on the Reference index tables (first floor). [KF8201.A1 D86 1990]

American Indian policy: self-governance and economic development. Westport , Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994. [E93 .A45 1994]

Barker, Joanne. Native acts : law, recognition, and cultural authenticity, Duke University Press, 2011. [E98.E85B375 2011]

Bordewich, Fergus M. Killing the white man's Indian: reinventing Native Americans at the end of the twentieth century. New York: Doubleday, 1996. [E98 .T77 B67]

Brooks, Dreg. Sweet medicine: sites of Indian massacres, battlefields, and treatises. Albuquerque : University of New Mexico Press, c1995. [E81 .B7 1995]

Brown, Dee Alexander. Bury my heart at Wounded Knee: An Indian history of the American west. New York: H. Holt, 1991. [E81 .B75]

Burton, Lloyd. American Indian water rights and the limits of law. Lawrence, Kan.: University Press of Kansas, c1991. [KF8210 .N37 B87 1991]

Burton, Lloyd. Indian Territory and the United States: courts, government, and the movement for Oklahoma statehood. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, c1995. [KFO1705 .B87 1995]

California. State Advisory Commission on Indian Affairs. Progress report to the Governor and the Legislature on Indians in rural and reservation areas. Sacramento, 1966. [E98 .E2 C33]

Cohen, Felix S. Cohen's handbook of federal Indian law, 2012 ed., LexisNexis, [2012]   [KF8205.C6 2012]

Constitutionalism and Native Americans, 1903-1968. Edited by John R. Wunder. New York: Garland, 1996. [In Processing]

Deloria, Vine. Custer died for your sins: an Indian manifesto. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1988. [E93 .D36 1988]

Deloria, Vine Jr. and Clifford M. Lytle. American Indians, American justice. University of Texas Press, c1983. [KF8224 .C6 D44 1983]

Downes, Randolph C. Council fires on the upper Ohio; a narrative of Indian affairs in the upper Ohio valley until 1795... University of Pittsburgh Press, 1940. [F517 .D69]

Exiled in the land of the free : democracy, Indian nations, and the U.S. Constitution, Edited by Oren Lyons, et al. Santa Fe, N.M. : Clear Light Publishers, c1992. [E93 .E965 1992]

Fear-Segal, Jacqueline, ed. Carlisle Indian Industrial School : indigenous histories, memories, and reclamations, University of Nebraska Press, [2016]   [E97.6.C2C365 2016]

Foreman, Richard L. Indian water rights: a public policy and administrative mess. Danville, IL: Interstate Printers & Publishers, c1981. [KFA2905.6 .W38 F67]

French, Laurence. The winds of injustice: American Indians and the U.S. Government. Garland Pub., 1994. [E99 .S67 F74 1994]

Garrow, Carrie E. Tribal criminal law and procedure, New York: Rowman & Littlefield, [2015]  [KIE3305.G37 2015]

Gates, Paul Wallace. The Jeffersonian dream: studies in the history of American land policy and development. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1996. [HD 191 .G37]

Gedicks, Al. The new resource wars: native and environmental struggles against multinational corporations. Boston, MA: South End Press, 1993. [E99 .C6 G44 1993]

Harring, Sidney L. Crow Dog's case: American Indian sovereignty, tribal law, and United States law in the nineteenth century. Cambridge University Press, 1994. [KF8205 .H37 1994]

Handbook of North American Indians. William C. Sturtevant, editor. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1996. [In Processing]

Held captive by Indians: selected narratives, 1642-1836. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1994. [E85 .V36]

Indian Bill of Rights, 1968. New York: Garland Pub., 1996. [In Processing]

Indian gaming and the law. Edited by William R. Eadington. Reno, Nev.: Institute for the Study of Gambling and Commercial Gaming, College of Business Administration, University of Nevada,, 1990. [KF8210 .G3 I53 1990]

Indian Industrial School, Carlisle, Pa., Andesite Press, [2015]   [E97.6.C2C45 2015]

Indian Justice Planning Project. Santa Fe: National Indian Justice Planning Association, 1971. [KF8205 .I5]

Indian reservations: a state and federal handbook. Compiled by the Confederation of American Indians. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c1986. [E93 .I3828 1986]

Indian law stories, edited by Carole Goldberg, Kevin K. Washburn, Philip P. Frickey. New York, N.Y. : Foundation Press/Thomson Reuters, 2011. [KF8205.A2I527 2011]

Indian water in the new West. Thomas R. McGuire, William B. Lord, Mary G. Wallace, editors. Tucson : University of Arizona Press, c1993. [KF8210 .N37 I55 1993]

Issues in Native American cultural identity. Edited by Michael K. Green. New York : P. Lang, c1995. [E98.E85 I77 1995]

Jones, B. J. The Indian Child Welfare Act handbook : a legal guide to the custody and adoption of Native American children. Chicago, Ill. : Section of Family Law, American Bar Association, c1995. [KF8210.C45 J66 1995]

Josephy, Alvin M. The Indian heritage of America. Knopf, c1968. [E58 .J6]

Kawashima, Yasuhide. Puritan justice and the Indian: white man's law in Massachusetts, 1630-1763. Middletown, Conn.: Wesleyan University Press, dist. by Harper & Row, c1986. [KFM2905 .K39 1986]

Lewry, Natasha. The impact of Norplant in the Native American community. Lake Andes, South Dakota: Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center, 1992. [RG137.6.N68 L48 1992]

McDonald, Laughlin. American Indians and the fight for equal voting rights, Norman, Okla. : University of Oklahoma Press, [2010]   [KF8210.S84M38 2010]

McGovern, Dan. The Campo Indian landfill war: the fight for gold in California's garbage. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, c1995. [E99 .C19 M33 1995]

Native American cultural and religious freedoms. Edited by John R. Wunder. New York: Garland, 1996. [In Processing]

Native American law and colonialism, before 1776 to 1903. Edited by John R. Wunder. New York: Garland, 1996. [In Processing]

Native American resurgence and renewal. Edited by Robert N. Wells. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1994. [E93 .N286 1994]

Native American sovereignty. Edited by John R. Wunder. New York: Garland, 1996. [In Processing]

Native Americans, crime, and justice. Edited by Marianne O. Nielsen and Robert A. Silverman. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1996. [E98.C87 N37 1996]

The new politics of Indian gaming : the rise of reservation interest groups, edited by Kenneth N. Hansen and Tracy A. Skopek. Reno : University of Nevada Press, [2011] [E98.G18N48 2011]

Pevar, Stephen L. The rights of Indians and tribes, 4th ed., Oxford University Press, [2012]   [KF8210.C5P48 2012]

Pommersheim, Frank. Braid of feathers : American Indian law and contemporary tribal life. Berkeley: University of California Press, c1995. [KF8205 .P6 1995]

Price, H. Marcus. Disputing the dead: U.S. law on aboriginal remains and grave goods. University of Missouri Press, c1991. [KF8210 .A57 P75 1991]

Prucha, Francis Paul. The great father: the United States government and the American Indians. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, c1986. [E93 .P96542 1986]

Readings in American Indian law: recalling the rhythm of survival. Edited by Jo Carrillo. Piladelphia: Temple University Press, 1998. [KF8204.5 R424 1998]

Recent legal issues for American Indians, 1968 to the present. Edited by John R. Wunder. New York: Garland Pub., 1996. [In Processing]

Richardson, Troy. Native Ameriacns in contemporary Pennsylvania. Harrisburg: Pennsylvania Heritage Affairs Commission, 1995. [E78.P4 R53 1995]

Riley, Naomi Schaefer. The new Trail of Tears : how Washington is destroying American Indians, New York : Encounter Books, 2016. [E93.R55 2016]

Royce, Charles C. Indian land cessions in the United States. New York, Arno Press, 1971. [KF5660 .R88 1971]

Skogen, Larry C. Indian depredation claims, 1796-1920. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1996. [KF 8208 .S57]

Smith, Michael R. American Indian civil rights handbook. United States Commission on Civil Rights, 1972. [KF8210 .C6]

Stewart, Omer Call. Peyote religion. Oklahoma City: University of Oklahoma Press, 1987. [E98.R3 S97 1987]

Telecommunications technology and Native Americans : opportunities and challenges. Washington, DC : Office of Technology Assessment, Congress of the U.S., c1995. [Government Documents: Y 3.T 22/2:2 T 23/2 ]

Title XXVI, Indian energy resources : a handbook. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Department of Energy, 1995. [Government Documents: E 1.8:IN 2]

United States Commission on Civil Rights. Indian tribes: a continuing quest for survival: a report. The Commission, U.S. GPO, 1981. [KF8210 .C5 U6]

Voices--Visions--: a collectioon of essays by Native American youth. Washington, D.C.: Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Public Indian Housing, 1996. [Government Documents: HH1.2:ES 7]

Ward, Martha. Your right to Indian welfare: a handbook on the BIA General Assistance Program. U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, GPO, 1973. [HC110 .P6 W3]

Washburn, Wilcomb E. Red man's land, white man's law : the past and present status of the American Indian. 2nd edition. Norman, OK : University of Oklahoma Press. [KF8205 .W38 1995]

Welsh, James. Killing Custer : The battle of the Little Bighorn and the fate of the Plains Indians. New York : W. W. Norton, c1994. [E83.876 .W38 1994]

Whaley, Rick. Walleye warriors: an effective alliance against racism and for the earth. Philadelphia, PA : New Society Publishers, c1994. [E99 .C6 W45 1994]

Wilkins, David E. Hollow justice : a history of Indigenous claims in the United States, New Haven : Yale University Press, [2013] [KF8205.W528 2013]

Wilkins, David E. American Indian sovereignty and the U.S. Supreme Court: the masking of jusice. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 1997. [KF8205 .W527 1997]

Wilkinson, Charles F. American Indians, time, and the law: native societies in a modern constitutional democracy. Yale University Press, c1987. [KF8205 .W53 1987]

Williams, Robert A. The American Indian in western legal thought: the discourses of conquest. Oxford University Press, 1990. [KF8205 .W547 1990]

Witmer, Linda F. The Indian Industrial School, Carlisle, Pennsylvania, 1879-1918. Carlisle, PA: Cumberland County Historical Society, 1993. [RESERVE E97.6 .C2 W57 1993]

Wunder, John R. "Retained By The People" : a history of American Indians and the Bill of Rights. New York : Oxford University Press, 1994. [KF8210.C5 W85 1994] 

CHEROKEE

Strickland, Rennard. Fire and the spirits: Cherokee law from clan to court. University of Oklahoma Press, 1975. [KF8228 .C505 S7]

 

The Cherokee Indian Nation: a troubled history. Edited by Duane H. King. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, c1979. [E99 .C5 C414 1979]

CHEYENNE

Llewellyn, Karl N. and E. Adamson Hoebel. The Cheyenne way: conflict and case law in primitive jurisprudence. University of Oklahoma Press, 1978, c1941. [E99 .C53 L55 1978]

Svingen, Orlan J. The Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation, 1877 - 1900. Niwot, Colo.: University Press of Colorado, c1993. [E99 .C53 S85 1993]

CHOCTAW

De Rosier, Arthur H. The removal of the Choctaw Indians. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, c1970. [E99 .C8 D46 1970]

DAKOTA

Utley, Robert Marshall. The lance and the shield: the life and times of Sitting Bull. New York: Ballantine Books, 1994. [E99 .D1 S625 1994]

HAWAIIAN

Native Hawaiian rights handbook. Edited by Melody Kapilialoha. Honolulu: Native Hawaiian Legal Corporation, 1991. [KFH411 .N38 1991]

Parker, Linda S. Native American estate: the struggle over Indian and Hawaiian lands. University of Hawaii Press, c1989. [E98 .L3 P37 1989]

INUIT (ESKIMOS)

North American Conference on the Protection of Human Rights for Indians and Inuits: Wingspread Conference. Convened by Commission to Study the Organization of Peace and the Johnson Foundation. Racine, Wis.: The Johnson Foundation, 1973. [KF8210 .N67 1973]

Snodgrass, Marjorie P. Economic development of American Indians and Eskimos. 1930 through 1967: a bibliography. U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, GPO, 1968. [Z1209 .S56]

IROQUOIS

Iroquois land claims. Edited by Christopher Vecsey and William A. Starna. Syracuse University Press, 1988. [KFN5940 .A75 I76 1988]

KIOWA

Clarke, Blue. Lone Wolf v. Hitchcock : treaty rights and Indian law at the end of the nineteenth century. Lincoln : University of Nebraska press, c1994. [KF228.L66 C58 1994]

MASHPEE

Campisi, Jack. The Mashpee Indians: tribe on trial. Syracuse University Press, 1991. [E99 .M4 C36 1991]

NAVAJO

Brugge, David M. Navajo-Hopi land dispute: an American tragedy. 1st edition. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, c1994. [E99 .N3 B757 1994]

Navajo Tribe. Navajo Tribal code. 4 vols. Orford, NH: Equity Publishing Co., c1978. [KF8228 .N3 A5 1978a] "Contains the general and permanent provisions of the resolutions of the Navajo Tribal Council and its Advisory Committee."

OGLALA

Starita, Joe. The dull knifes of pine Ridge : A Lakota Odyssey. New York : Putnam, c1995. [E99.O3 D857 1995]

ONEIDA

Shattuck, George C. The Oneida land claims: a legal history. Syracuse University Press, 1991. [KF8228 .O45 A3 1991]

PONCA

Tibbles, Thomas Henry. Standing bear and the Ponca cheifs. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1995 [KF 228.S78 T54]

PUEBLO

Tyler, Daniel. The mythical Pueblo Rights Doctrine: water administration in Hispanic New Mexico. El Paso: Texas Western Press, c1990. [E99 .P9 T84 1990]

SEMINOLE

Lancaster Jane F. Removal aftershock : the Seminoles' struggles to survive in the West, 1836-1866. Knoxville : University of Tennessee Press, c1994. [E99.S28 L35 1994]

SIOUX

Lazarus, Edward. Black Hills, white justice: the Sioux nation versus the United States, 1775 to the present. New York: Harper Collins, c1991. [E99 .D1 L37 1991]

SUSQUEHANNOCK

Cadzow, Donald A. Archaeological studies of the Susquehannock Indians of Pennsylvania. Harrisburg: Pennsylvania Historical Commission, 1936. [E78 .P482]

 

ZUNI

Zuni and the courts: a struggle for sovereign land rights. Edited by E, Richard Hart. Lawrence, Kan.: University Press of Kansas, c1995. [KF8208 .Z86 1995]

Asch, Michael. On being here to stay : treaties and Aboriginal rights in Canada, University of Toronto Press, [2014]   [KE7709.A853 2014]

Canada. Annotated Indian Act, including related treatises, statutes, and regulations. Scarborough, Ont.: Carswell, 1992- [KE 7703.9 .C36]

Clark, Bruce A. Indian title in Canada. Carswell, 1987 [KE7739 .L3 CX53 1987]

Mills, Antonia Curtze. Eagle down is our law: Witsuwit' en law, feasts, and land claims. Vancouver: UBC Press, c1994. [E99 .W56 M55 1994]

Reiter, Robert Alan. The law of Canadian Indian Treaties. Edmonton : Juris Analytica Pub., c1995. [KE7709 .R45 1995]

Ryan, Joan. Doing things the right way: Dene traditional justice in Lac La Marte, N.W.T. Calgary, Alta: University of Calgary Press: Arctic Institute of North America, c1995. [E99.T4 R937 1995]

Unjust relations: aboriginal rights in Canadian courts. Edited by Peter Kulchyski. Oxford University Press, 1994. [KE7722 .C5 A65 1994]

Woodward, Jack. Native law. Carswell, 1989, c1990. [KE7709 .W66 1989]