Elder Law
General Resources
DATABASES
These resources are accessible to authorized Penn State users. For a complete list of law and law-related databases, search the Law Library's A-Z Databases. For nonlegal databases, the University Libraries Databases by Title provides over 600 databases in related subjects such as business, finance, health, medicine, politics, social sciences, and more.
- AgeLineAgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine also includes information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers.
- CCH Health and Human Resources NetworkCCH Health and Human Resources Network provides federal and state research materials on topics such as labor and employment, pensions, benefits, health care compliance and reimbursement, and safety compliance. Full-text materials include statutes, regulations, agency directives and letters, judicial opinions, and forms. CCH Health and Human Resources Research Network will be replaced by CCH Cheetah near the end of 2018. All content in this database is in CCH Cheetah.
- RIA Checkpoint (Tax and Estate Planning)RIA Checkpoint is a comprehensive tax and estate planning research service. It includes federal and state primary law documents such as legislation, regulations, and court opinions. Selected journals and treatises offer detailed analysis of complex tax and estate planning issues.
- Westlaw for Law Schools (Law School Only)
This link opens in a new window
WestlawNext provides a vast collection of resources for elder law, health care, retirement & pension, estate planning, and more.
BOOKS & TREATISES
The following are several general books and treatises that will provide an overview of relevant elder law issues. Keep in mind that this list is very selective and does not begin to encompass all of the books that we have on elder law matters. To find more books or titles on a narrower topic, click on the tab for Finding Books & Articles in this Guide.
Begley & Hook : Representing the Elderly or Disabled Client by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780735552395Publication Date: 2010-Online access available through WestlawNext. This two-volume handbook from two veteran elder law advocates addresses each key practice issue and provides an overview of the basic rules and guiding statutes/regulations, in-depth analysis of elder law practice together with guiding case law, and step-by-step explanation of the advocacy process, revealing how law operates in the real world and where things can go wrong.
Elder Law Answer Book by Call Number: KF390.A4F58 2010ISBN: 9780735580565Publication Date: Oct 2009Written by nationally-known elder law practitioners, Robert B. Fleming and Lisa Nachmias Davis, the Elder Law Answer Book gathers the most current legal, regulatory, and practice guidelines from the core topics of elder law, long-term care, estate planning, retirement planning, healthcare decision making, and rights of the elderly.
Elder Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF390.A4F752 2014ISBN: 9781628100099Publication Date: 2014, 6th ed.This edition integrates the wide-ranging changes made by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (health reform legislation), as well as other recent developments. It includes the following topics: the Elder Justice Act responding
to elder abuse and neglect; criminal background checks of workers who work with older patients; major Medicare changes, such as cost-free annual wellness visits and personalized prevention assessments, end-of-life planning, tax increases on both earned and
investment income, increased premiums on higher-income enrollees in Part D, and gradual filling of the Part D "donut hole"; Medicaid spousal impoverishment protection changes; and more.
Elderlaw : Advocacy for the Aging by Call Number: Electronic resourcePublication Date: 2010-ElderLaw: Advocacy for the Aging is a comprehensive reference on the practice of elder law that is designed to help attorneys handle their clients' needs effectively and compassionately. State/national resources are listed for elder law attorneys and clients; Medicare carriers and intermediaries; and Medicaid agencies and fiscal agents. Practice aids include information on attorney fees, citations, lists, and forms. Online access available from WestlawNext.
Frolik and Brown : Advising the Elderly or Disabled Client by Call Number: Electronic resourcePublication Date: 2010, 2nd ed.Online access available from WestlawNext.
The Law of Financial Abuse and Exploitation : A Pennsylvania Guide for Older Adults, Families, Counsel and Courts by Call Number: KFP567.A35P42 2011ISBN: 9780982015483Publication Date: 2011As the state with the third highest percentage of older adults, Pennsylvania is often the arena for financial abuse or exploitation. This timely new book presents the legal consequences of financial exploitation, both in criminal and civil terms. By focusing on the law of exploitation, this essential guide will give those who assist older adults and dependent persons, including attorneys, courts, financial advisors, banks, social workers and families, clear guidelines for prevention of financial exploitation.
Marquette Elder's Advisor by Call Number: Electronic resourcePublication Date: 2003-Online access available through WestlawNext.
The Rights of Older Persons by Call Number: KF390.A4B76 1989ISBN: 9780809314324Publication Date: 1989Using a question and answer format, this ACLU Handbook is written primarily for the elderly and those individuals responsible for their care and advocacy. Its primary focus is providing information on the rights of older Americans to receive the benefits provided them under law, including social security, Medicare, Medicaid, and pension rights.
Websites
- ABA Commission on Law and AgingProvides information on legislative updates, publications, CLE & conference materials related to elder law.
- Administration on AgingOfficial U.S. Government site provides information on services for elderly and their care givers.
- AgeSource & AgeStats WorldwideThese two databases have been created by AARP to facilitate the international exchange of policy and program information in aging. AgeSource identifies information resources in 25 countries including clearinghouses, libraries, databases, training modules, major reports, and Web metasites. AgeStats provides access to comparative statistical data that compare the situation of older adults across countries or regions around a variety of issue areas.
- American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)Besides general interest articles for older adults, this web site contains excellent research reports on topics such as Medicare, prescription drug plans, and financial planning
- Elder Law AnswersProvides information for the public and for attorneys. The public side provides attorney referral service as well as directory listings of elder law attorneys; lengthy overview articles on aspects of elder law, including disability planning, long term care insurance, and veterans benefits; and state-specific articles in elder law areas.
- NAELAThe National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys is a professional association of attorneys who are dedicated to improving the quality of legal services provided to people as they age and people with special needs. This website includes information on public policy, advocacy actions, fact sheets, NAELA publications, newsletters and news articles.
- USA.gov Senior Citizens' ResourcesThis website provides links to federal government information on topics of elder law and related concerns. These links include consumer protection, housing, retirement and tax information and a variety of federal agencies which serve the elderly. Links to related state agencies, legislation and regulations are available.
title
Loading...