Print Page

Elder Law

Finding Books

Treatises (i.e. books) are an especially valuable source for background or in depth research.  These publications provide authoritative analysis or commentary regarding the subject matter and often reprint the full text of primary source documents.

In addition to the Law Library & University Libraries online catalog (The CAT) we have access to the other Big Ten university library catalogs, as well.  Although the primary focus of some of these library collections is nonlegal, it is likely that they would include some materials relevant to your research.  For example, Pattee/Paterno Library at University Park is a U.S. government and European Union depository library and would have a vast quantity of relevant legal material.  For the most part, the University Libraries collect heavily in U.S. and international materials.  If you are unsure how to use The CAT, one of the librarians will assist you.

You have access to books from all over the world by using the following databases found on the Law Library Research page under:

Discover Library Resources (http://pennstatelaw.psu.edu/library/research ):

  • The CAT (DSL Library Catalog) - Available via the web at http://cat.libraries.psu.edu. Access to over 500,000 volumes of primarily legal materials and over 4 million volumes in the University Libraries. Materials located anywhere within Penn State can be delivered to the PSU library of your choice by clicking on the "I Want It" button.
  • CIC “Big Ten” Libraries - Access to the library holdings of all Big Ten universities.  Libraries can be searched separately or in customized groups.
  • World Cat - World Cat includes over 38 million records for books, periodicals, magazines, and any other type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. The database includes records for material as early as the 11th century.

Finding Articles

The following indexes and databases can be used to find articles in law and law-related journals:

To expand the list of resources that might include articles, you should consult the Law Library's A-Z Databases webpage.  Filter your search by clickiing on the pull-down menu for All Database Types; then choose Articles for a list of databses that includes periodical articles. This menu choice provides filters to retrieve databases that include articles, indexes, news, full text, ebooks, abstracts and more.

Subject Guide

Law Library
Contact:
Penn State's Dickinson Law:
   150 S. College Street
   Carlisle, PA 17013
   (717) 240-5267
dickinsonlawlib@psu.edu
https://dickinsonlaw.psu.edu/library
University Park, PA:
   214 Lewis Katz Building
   University Park, PA 16802
   (814) 865-8861
library@pennstatelaw.psu.edu
https://pennstatelaw.psu.edu/library
Website / Blog Page