Print Page

Native American Law

Central Pennsylvania, and Carlisle in particular, has a long and varied history with Native Americans. From a researcher's standpoint, the existence of this long relationship, although sometimes stormy, has led to the accumulation of valuable documents, photographs, and other materials in local library collections. The major emphasis of this Research Guide is on the collection of law related materials that can be found here at the Montague Law Library. However, other sources within the Carlisle area may be of enormous value, and will be discussed briefly. 

Research Guides & Bibliographies

An excellent way to begin the research process is to consult a pathfinder or guide on the subject in question. Native American materials can be found in the most unlikely publications and places. The following items may offer some guidance.

Carter, Nancy Carol. American Indian Law: Research and Sources. 4 Legal Reference Services Quarterly 5, no. 4 (Winter 1984/85).

Fritz, Linda. Native law bibliography. 2nd edition. University of Saskatchewan Native Law Centre, 1990. [KE7701 .F75 1990]

Hill, Edward E. Guide to records in the National Archives of the United States relating to American Indians. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, U.S. GPO, 1982. [Z1209.2 .U5 H54]

Library of Congress. Many nations: Library of Congress resource guide for the study of Indian and Alaska native peoples of the United States. Edited by Patrick Frazier and the Publishing Office. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1966. [Government Document: LC1.6/4: N21]

Marke, Julius J., and Richard Sloane. Legal research and law library management. N.Y. : Law Journal Seminar - Press, 1990- . Research in American Indian Law, chapter 54. [KF8210.C5 P48 1992]

Native Americans: a legal/historical collection. Jerry Dupont, compiler. Law Library Microform Consortium, 1990. [MICROFICHE] [KF8201.A1 D86 1990]

A bibliographical catalog describing LLMC's Native American microfiche collection of 1,668 titles. Our library has recently acquired this collection, which includes the basic legal documents of many Indian tribes, Indian - U.S. treaties, U.S. government legislative, executive & judicial documents, general treatises and reference works. 

Snodgrass, Marjorie P. Economic development of American Indians and Eskimos. 1930 through 1967: a bibliography. U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, GPO, 1968. [Z1209 .S56]

SURVEYS OF THE LAW

American Indian law deskbook. Conference of Western Attorneys General. Niwot, CO: University Press of Colorado, c1993. [KF8205 .A76 1993]

Canby, William C. American Indian law in a nutshell. 2nd edition. West Pub. Co., 1988. [KF8205 .Z9 C36 1988 RESERVE]

Cohen, Felix S. Handbook of federal Indian law. Five Rings Corp., c1986. [KF8205 .C6]

Getches, David H., Charles F. Wilkinson, and Robert A. Williams. Cases and materials on Federal Indian law. 3rd edition. West Pub. Co., 1993. [KF8204.5 .G47 1993 RESERVE]

Holt, H. Barry and Gary Forrester. Digest of American Indian law: cases and chronology. F. B. Rothman, 1990. [KF8204.5 .H65 1990]

Pevar, Stephen L., The rights of Indians and tribes : the basic ACLU guide to Indian and tribal rights. 2nd edition. Southern Illinois University Press, c1992. [KF8210.c5 P84 1992]

Price, Monroe Edwin. Law and the American Indian; readings, notes, and cases. Bobbs- Merrill, 1973. [KF8205 .P69]

Wells, Robert N., Native American Resurgence and Renewal : A reader and bibliography. Scarecrow Press, 1994. [E93 .N286 1994]