Race and Diversity in America

The following indexes and databases can be used to find articles in law and law-related journals:

• HeinOnline
  Find legal journals in full text from their inception.
• Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
  Find articles and books published since 1918.
• LegalTrac
  Find all major law reviews, newspapers & legal periodicals since 1981.
• Law Review Commons
  Find over 220,000 full-text articles in searchable, open-access law reviews.
• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  Find articles published in non-U.S. journals since 1985.
• Academic Search Complete
  Multi-disciplinary periodical database.
• E-Journal Portal
  Title list of journals & periodicals available online.

To expand the list of resources that might include articles, you should consult the Law Library's A-Z Databases webpage.  Filter your search by clickiing on the pull-down menu for All Database Types; then choose Articles for a list of databases that includes periodical articles. This menu choice provides filters to retrieve databases that include articles, indexes, news, full text, ebooks, abstracts and more.

Treatises (i.e. books) are an especially valuable source for background or in depth research. These publications provide authoritative analysis or commentary regarding the subject matter and often reprint the full text of primary source documents.

In addition to the Law Library & University Libraries online catalog, we have access to the other Big Ten university library catalogs. Although the primary focus of some of these library collections is nonlegal, it is likely that they would include some materials relevant to your research. For example, Pattee/Paterno Library at University Park is a U.S. government and European Union depository library and would have a vast quantity of relevant legal material. For the most part, the University Libraries collect heavily in U.S. and international materials. If you are unsure how to use the catalog, one of the librarians will assist you.

You have access to books from all over the world by using the following databases found on the Law Library Research page under:

Discover Library Resources  (https://psudickinsonlaw.libguides.com/researchresources):

• The Library Catalog - Available via the web at https://catalog.libraries.psu.edu/. Access to over 500,000 volumes of primarily legal materials and over 4 million volumes in the University Libraries. Materials located anywhere within Penn State can be delivered to the PSU library of your choice by clicking on the "I Want It" button.

• “Big 10” Academic Alliance Libraries - Access to the library holdings of all Big Ten universities.  Libraries can be searched separately or in customized groups.

• Worldcat - Worldcat includes over 38 million records for books, periodicals, magazines, and any other type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. The database includes records for material as early as the 11th century.

• Interlibrary Loan (https://psudickinsonlaw.libguides.com/interlibraryloan) and ILLiad (https://psu-illiad-oclc-org.ezaccess.libraries.psu.edu/illiad/upm/illiad.dll)

See Books for a sample list of books within the Law Library's collection. To find additional books within the Law Library and University Libraries' collections, click on the subject headings below.  Note: This is just a sample of the many subject headings that are available that are related to racism, discrimination, and civil rights.