Women's Voting Rights and the 19th Amendment

Collection of documents on Black women Suffragists

This project collects and interprets documents pertaining to the debate about the enfranchisement of African American women after the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution in 1920. It examines tensions in the interactions between advocates for Black women and the most militant woman suffrage organization, the National Woman's Party.

July/August 2019 issue of Library of Congress Magazine focusing on women's suffrage.

The National Women’s History Alliance formerly, the National Women’s History Project, is a leader in promoting Women’s History and is committed to the goals of education, empowerment, equality, and inclusion.

A collection of videos about the 19th Amendment

"The right to vote (also known as suffrage) is an important part of our democracy. Throughout history, different groups were prevented from taking part in the voting process. At one point, women, people of color, and immigrants could not vote. People without money, property, or an education were also barred from voting. Discover the relationship between the 15th and the 19th Amendments that guaranteed access to the ballot."

One hundred years ago, suffragists celebrated the amendment’s adoption. For Black women, it wasn’t a culminating moment, but the start of a new fight to secure voting rights for all Americans.

History Channel: Women's Rights Movement

HeinOnline collection: Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. It provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.

A timeline of woman's suffrage in American 1776-1923.

This guide compiles Library of Congress digital materials, external websites, and a print bibliography related to the women's suffrage movement.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.