Cybersecurity Law

The CSIAC is a Department of Defense (DOD) Information Analysis Center sponsored by the Defense Technical Information Center. The CSIAC is one of three Information Analysis Centers sponsored by the Defense Technical Information Center. The CSIAC "performs the Basic Center of Operations functions necessary to fulfill the mission and objectives applicable to the DOD Research, Development, Test and Evaluation and Acquisition communities' needs. These activities focus on the collection, analysis, synthesizing/processing and dissemination of Scientific and Technical Information."

The FBI is the lead federal agency for investigating cyber attacks by criminals, overseas adversaries, and terrorists.

The FTC provides tips and information about privacy, identity and online security for consumers, including a link to identitytheft.gov to report and help consumers recover from identity theft.

The Networking and Information Technology Research and Development Program (NITRD), which consists of multiple agencies, is the "Nation's primary source of federally funded research and development in advanced information technologies in computing, networking and software."

The U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team's (CERT) is a part of the Department of Homeland Security. Its "mission is to reduce the risk of systemic cybersecurity and communications challenges in [their] role as the Nation's flagship cyber defense, incident response, and operational integration center."

The Department of Homeland Security provides a wealth of information on the topic of cybersecurity.

The Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section of the U.S. Department of Justice investigates and prosecutes computer crimes.

The Cybersecurity Unit of the U.S. Department of Justice was created as a unit within the Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section of the Department to provide "expert advice and legal guidance regarding how the criminal electronic surveillance and computer fraud and abuse statutes impact cybersecurity."

"This voluntary Framework consists of standards, guidelines, and best practices to manage cybersecurity-related risk."

Congress' Think Tank. Non-partisan research on various issues. This is set to a keyword search for cybersecurity. You can make another selection.

An unofficial compilation of CRS Reports by topic.

An unofficial compilation of CRS Reports by topic.

An unofficial compilation of CRS Reports by topic.

The website for the Governor's Office of Homeland Security: Cybersecurity contains cybersecurity tips and a list of useful resources.

The website for the Pennsylvania Office of Administration: Cybersecurity contains information for citizens, businesses, agencies and their employees, and local governments within the Commonwealth.

Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information and includes information on the current legislative calendar, legislative activities, the legislative process and members of Congress. Congress.gov includes the full text of Congressional bills and amendments, the Congressional Record, committee reports from 1995 onward, and Public Laws from the 93rd Congress onward. It also offers the ability to search the status of current legislation, and includes a link to the U.S. Founding Documents website and the Century of Lawmaking website, which include links to the U.S. Code, Congressional documents and debates, and other historical information from 1774-1875. (Formerly Thomas.)

Data.gov is the federal government's open data site. Launched by the U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) in May 2009 with a modest 47 datasets, Data.gov has grown to over 200,000 datasets from hundreds of data sources including federal agencies, states, counties, and cities. Data.gov provides easy access to government datasets covering a wide range of topics—everything from weather, demographics, health, education, housing, and agriculture, and more.

This electronic version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) provides access to the latest version of the CFR. While it is updated daily, it is not considered to be an official version of the CFR. Check the top of each page for the current update status.

Legislative documents published by the Government Publishing Office (GPO) are available here. These include Congressional Bills from the 103rd Congress forward, Congressional Reports from the 104th Congress forward, and the History of Bills from 1983 forward. Govinfo also includes the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from 1993 to date and the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from 1992 to date. (Govinfo replaced FDSys in December 2018.)

Provides access to federal regulatory content. Users can search all publicly available regulatory materials, (e.g., posted public comments, supporting analyses, FR notices, and rules); submit comments on a regulation; submit an applications or adjudication document; download agencies regulatory materials; sign up for email alerts about a specific regulations; and access regulations that are trending, newly posted or closing soon.

USA.gov is an official, secure website of the United States government. USA.gov searches only federal, state, and local government websites for the public. Its search box works like other search engines, but only returns results from government web pages, most ending in .gov or .mil.