Recent Acquisitions

The rise of the administrative state is the most significant political development in American politics over the past century. While our Constitution separates powers into three branches, and requires that the laws are made by elected representatives in the Congress, today most policies are made by unelected officials in agencies where legislative, executive, and judicial powers are combined. This threatens constitutionalism and the rule of law. This book examines the history of administrative power in America and argues that modern administrative law has failed to protect the principles of American constitutionalism as effectively as earlier approaches to regulation and administration.

In this book, the authors explore the relationship between federal procurement and the Civil False Claims Act (FCA), which is the federal government's principal civil tool in its anti-fraud efforts. The book describes the regulated nature of government contracting and the players in the policy and enforcement communities who regulate and police government contracts.

As procedures governing the rulemaking process have proliferated since the Administrative Procedure Act was enacted, the potential procedural pitfalls have multiplied. This 6th edition brings the Guide up-to-date with respect to recent cases and changes introduced during the latter half of the Obama Administration and the early years of the Trump Administration.

The Federal Veterans Laws, Rules and Regulations (FVLRR) contains the most relevant parts of Title 38 veterans law, including statutes and regulations, and court rules in a single source.

After the many bureaucratic changes that followed the passing of the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) and other legislation, patient care has become secondary to satisfying the whims of government and giant insurance company administrators, who are in total control. Written by a practicing doctor and based on years of real-life experience, Distracted takes the unique view that it is not the American health care system that is broken--the problem lies in the administration of health care. The solution is simplicity where there is complexity. The solution is an elegant use of health information technology to foster improved care. It is putting control of health care decisions back with those who know best, patients and their health care teams. The solution is caring for patients with fewer distractions.

The Mueller Investigation and issues emanating from that investigation are at the heart of this book, providing a contextual setting for learning and reviewing materials across the law school curriculum. The book includes cases, essays, and other materials that allow it to be used as a capstone course for classroom discussion in areas of administrative law, civil procedure, counterintelligence and congressional investigative activity, constitutional law, criminal law and procedure, election law, evidence, and professional responsibility.

Focusing on clinical legal education at the Domestic Violence Institute at the Northeastern University School of Law, Britt takes a case-study approach to illuminate how challenging the context, aims, and forms of advocacy traditionally embraced in the U.S. legal system produces better support for victims of domestic violence. She analyzes a wide range of materials and practices, including the pedagogy of Law School training programs, interviews with advocates, and narratives written by students in the emergency department, and looks closely at the forms of rhetorical education through which students assimilate advocacy practices. By examining how students learn to listen actively to clients and to recognize that clients have the right and ability to make decisions for themselves, Britt shows that rhetorical education can succeed in producing legal professionals with the inclination and capacity to engage others whose values and experiences diverge from their own. By investigating the deep relationship between legal education and rhetorical education, Reimagining Advocacy calls for conversations and action that will improve advocacy for others, especially for victims of domestic violence seeking assistance from legal professionals.

This monograph draws from in-depth interviews with twenty-six domestic violence victim advocates to examine their experiences with gendered policies and practices in the justice system, child protective services, and shelters. Andrea J. Nichols explores justice system interventions related to pro-arrest, dual arrest, no-drop prosecution, protective orders, and the actions of police and judges. In addition, she examines policies and practices related to child protective services that negatively affect battered women, such as charges for failure to protect and lost custody. Nichols also explores the most contentiously debated shelter policies, including curfew, confidentiality, substance abuse, entrance requirements, admitting adolescent boys, and mandatory classes.

This updated and expanded guide will help attorneys learn the skills necessary to expertly represent clients when using alternative dispute resolution (ADR) in intellectual property disputes.

In Gay Priori, Libby Adler offers a comprehensive critique of mainstream LGBT legal agendas in the United States and a new direction for LGBT law reform. Adler shows how LGBT equal rights discourse drives legal advocates toward a narrow array of reform objectives--namely, same-sex marriage, anti-discrimination protections, and hate crimes statutes. This approach means that many legal issues that greatly impact the lives of the LGBT community's most marginalized members--especially those who are transgender, homeless, underage, or nonwhite--often go unnoticed. Such a narrow focus on equal rights also fixes and flattens LGBT identities, perpetuates the uneven distribution of resources such as safety, housing, health, and wealth, and limits the capacity for advocates to imagine change. To combat these effects, Adler calls for prioritizing the redistribution of resources in ways that focus on addressing low-profile legal conditions such as foster care and other issues that better meet the needs of LGBT people.

Advocates at any stage of their careers know that attaining both a happy, healthy home and a successful practice is not easy; it’s about asking the hard questions and doing what it takes to gain experience, make connections, establish the right reputation, preempt mistakes, succeed at trial, and maintain happiness on a career path that is fraught with stress, conflict, and frustration. Becoming a Trial Lawyer: A Guide for the Lifelong Advocate provides a perfect combination of practical advice and uplifting insights to inspire those in the legal field of trial law to better themselves and progress in their career with confidence.

This book is an in-depth reference guide to the theory and practice of creating persuasive and effective demonstratives, which are advocacy graphics or visual aids. Creating a definitive set of terms with accompanying illustrative images not only makes communication clearer and more efficient, but also sparks ideas for different approaches and looks for demonstratives.

This second edition of Stories Mediators Tell encompasses stories from around the world. The writers—24 top international mediators—were asked to write about moving, successful, unsuccessful, happy, sad and funny mediations. From these amazing stories, mediators will learn how to help clients find positive outcomes to conflict resolution.

While most of the hundreds of millions of insurance claims filed each year are resolved through the adjustment process, using alternative dispute resolution mechanisms such as arbitration, mediation, settlement conferences, and appraisal allow both claimants and carriers to avoid trying a dispute in court. Written for attorneys and claim professionals who want to better understand ADR mechanisms, this book also provides general information on insurance claim mediations and arbitrations, dispute resolution of claims involving international parties, and on ethical issues.

This updated and expanded guide will help attorneys learn the skills necessary to expertly represent clients when using alternative dispute resolution (ADR) in intellectual property disputes.

This comprehensive handbook explores all aspects of copyright litigation strategies: pre-litigation considerations and analysis, alternative dispute resolution, formulating discovery plans, third-party discovery, foreign discovery, handling depositions, working with experts, motion practice, the trial, proving infringement, defeating infringement claims, evidence, appeals, and more.

The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) encourages participants to use alternative dispute resolution (ADR) processes during post grant proceedings to facilitate resolution of conflicts that have become exceedingly complex. The flexibility and benefits of ADR proceedings are based on the expertise of qualified neutrals such as experienced IP attorneys and former judges and magistrates who are uniquely equipped to evaluate IP issues and settle conflicts in a manner much more streamlined than a Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) proceeding. In this concise guide, author David L. Newman covers all essential aspects of using ADR to resolve these disputes at the PTAB

This Benchbook provides a comprehensive overview of case management, best practices, and decision making in United States business courts. Providing an overview of 25 states with business courts, the Benchbook identifies and details business court administration, procedures, and best practices nationwide, and addresses common legal issues decided by business courts.

For most people in rural South Africa, traditional justice mechanisms provide the only feasible means of accessing any form of justice. These mechanisms are popularly associated with restorative justice, reconciliation and harmony in rural communities. Yet, this ethnographic study grounded in the political economy of rural South Africa reveals how historical conditions and contemporary pressures have strained these mechanisms' ability to deliver the high normative ideals with which they are notionally linked. In places such as Msinga access to justice is made especially precarious by the reality that human insecurity - a composite of physical, social and material insecurity - is high for both ordinary people and the authorities who staff local justice forums; cooperation is low between traditional justice mechanisms and the criminal and social justice mechanisms the state is meant to provide; and competition from purportedly more effective 'twilight institutions', like vigilante associations, is rife. The author proposes a cooperative governance model that would maximize the resources and capacity of both traditional and state justice apparatus for delivering the legal and social justice - namely, peace and protection from violence as well as mitigation of poverty and destitution - that rural people genuinely need.

The 2017 A201 Deskbook identifies and analyzes every significant change made to the A201 document, and also includes for the first time a section-by-section critical analysis of the A201, with case law interpretations and practice tips.

The Federal Trade Commission, a US agency created in 1914 to police the problem of 'bigness', has evolved into the most important regulator of information privacy - and thus innovation policy - in the world. Its policies profoundly affect business practices and serve to regulate most of the consumer economy. In short, it now regulates our technological future. Despite its stature, however, the agency is often poorly understood by observers and even those who practice before it. This volume by Chris Jay Hoofnagle - an internationally recognized scholar with more than fifteen years of experience interacting with the FTC - is designed to redress this confusion by explaining how the FTC arrived at its current position of power. It will be essential reading for lawyers, legal academics, political scientists, historians and anyone else interested in understanding the FTC's privacy activities and how they fit in the context of the agency's broader consumer protection mission.

Antitrust Law Developments (Eighth) is the seminal comprehensive review of federal antitrust law, with reports on current case law and administrative and legislative developments current through 2016. This 2-volume set updates you on key decisions in the courts, and developments at the enforcement agencies, keeping you current in every area of antitrust practice. Each edition of Antitrust Law Developments is designed to improve upon, as well as update, prior editions, and to ensure consistency with ever-changing developments in this dynamic area of law.

This first edition of the International Antitrust Cartel Handbook is a vital reference for both new and experienced antitrust practitioners navigating the increasingly complex global cartel enforcement environment. It brings together leading cartel practitioners from around the world to address the critical issues that arise throughout the lifecycle of a cartel investigation and prosecution.

This second edition of the Antitrust Class Actions Handbook is a vital reference for both new and experienced antitrust practitioners navigating the class action thicket. The book is intended as a comprehensive discussion of the issues that arise before, during, and after the filing of an antitrust class action. It considers the issues and challenges faced by both plaintiffs and defendants to such actions, and focuses on both the evolving legal standards as well as the strategic decisions that guide these highly complex cases.

This second edition of the DOJ Civil Antitrust Practice and Procedure Manual is a comprehensive guide to the process and procedures governing antitrust enforcement and policymaking by the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice. It provides a framework for understanding the process and procedures the Antitrust Division employs in conducting investigations, reaching decisions about civil enforcement, advocating for competition, and formulating guidance to the antitrust community. It offers practical guidance to lawyers and parties involved in antitrust matters, investigations, and litigation with the Antitrust Division.

The Agriculture and Food Handbook provides a comprehensive review of the regulatory, antitrust, and consumer protection issues that arise in these industries. Competition in the complex, diverse industries that make up the agriculture and food arena raises many novel and significant antitrust issues that can have worldwide effects. Our population continues to grow. Globalization continues to present opportunities and challenges in agriculture and food. Climate change will likely require changes in the balance of our food systems. Food and agriculture will continue to be fundamental to our societies, and with them the tenets of competition and consumer protection. Our goal is for this handbook to aid the pursuit of sharpening our legal and regulatory approach to the evolving issues in antitrust and consumer protection in agriculture and food.

The Handbook on Antitrust in Technology Industries is intended to serve as a comprehensive review and analysis of the application of antitrust law and principles to the technology industry, including software and hardware for computers, mobile and embedded devices, networking, and rapidly growing cloud-based industries such as social media.

Serving as an analytical tool and a comprehensive, practical guide for franchise law practitioners, this is an exceptionally useful resource for "old hands" as well as for those who are new to the practice of franchise law. Written by a team of experienced franchise lawyers, this book serves not only as an important resource for understanding the provisions of the FTC Rule, as well as guidance from state regulatory agencies and NASAA. The book also contains the invaluable Franchise Rule Toolkit and additional source materials essential to interpreting the FTC Rule's disclosure requirements.

The Energy Antitrust Handbook provides a comprehensive review of the regulatory and antitrust issues that arise in the electricity, natural gas, and petroleum industries.

The Telecom Antitrust Handbook, Third Edition is intended to serve as a comprehensive review and analysis of the application of antitrust law and principles to the telecommunications industries (including wireline and wireless telecom, broadband access, and video programming distribution) for use by telecom and antitrust counsel in evaluating the many competitive issues that arise in the telecom markets.

The Handbook provides an overview of the pharmaceutical industry, including the market participants, FDA regulatory structure, and background on private litigation and government enforcement. It then addresses the substantive antitrust issues presented by mergers and acquisition, joint ventures, various forms of potentially anti-competitive conduct, and distribution. It also discusses the kinds of economic data that are integral to antitrust analysis for this industry.

As practice under Section 337 has grown, so has interpretation of the law. Now updated, this concise introduction to practice under Section 337 before the U.S. International Trade Commission provides analysis and explanation of the participants in a Section 337 investigations and explains on the procedural rules of an investigation as well as related issues.

Investment arbitration has emerged from modest beginnings and matured into an established presence in international law. However, in recent years it has drifted from the reciprocal vision of its founders. This volume serves as a comprehensive guide for those who wish to reform international investment law from within, seeking a return to the mutuality of access that is in arbitration's essence. A detailed toolset is provided for enhancing the access of host States and their nationals to formal resolution mechanisms in foreign investment disputes. It concludes by offering model texts to achieve greater reciprocity and access to justice in the settlement of disputes arising from international investment initiatives.

The book deals with the relevant legal framework and the confidentiality of the arbitration procedure, after an introduction into the special features of arbitration disputes concerning IP disputes. Particular emphasis is placed on the recitals in the drafting of the arbitration agreement, including the specific features of the franchise arbitration procedure. Furthermore, what is to be observed during the execution of the arbitration procedure and what remedies are available to the arbitration parties. Finally, the handbook deals with questions of the enforcement of arbitration laws in the field of intellectual property.

This revised edition of The History of ICSID details the history and development of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) and its constituent treaty, the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States. Antonio Parra, the first Deputy Secretary-General of ICSID, traces the immediate origins of the Convention, in the years 1955 to 1962, and gives a stage-by-stage narrative of the drafting of the Convention between 1962 and 1965. The book offers unique insight into the establishment and design of ICSID, as well as into how the institution evolved and its relationship with the World Bank over the 50 years since the establishment of ICSID.

The second edition of Cross-Border Judicial Cooperation in Offshore Litigation (The British Offshore World) provides a practical insight into how six leading British offshore jurisdictions approach cross-border judicial cooperation. Although geographically small, the British territories of Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man are well established international financial centres. These six commercially significant jurisdictions are home to a vast array of commercial entities which conduct business throughout the world. There is growing concern over how the courts of these jurisdictions will cooperate with courts in other centres of commerce in responding to letters of request, enforcing foreign judgments, or assisting foreign liquidators. This book is the only publication to provide a detailed explanation of the law and practice in each of these six British territories and how each approaches the judicial cooperation issues of obtaining evidence for use in foreign proceedings, enforcing foreign judgments, and cross-border insolvency. It is edited by a commercial judge and two experienced commercial litigators with contributions from experts in each jurisdiction, all written from the perspective of the practitioner.

How to Play the Game, by Miami-based attorney and sports agent Darren Heitner, is the go-to source for anyone interested in getting into the field of sports law. It discusses the laws that govern the sports industry, from contract drafting and negotiation to antitrust issues, intellectual property matters, and labor law concerns. It also discusses the role of players’ associations, the power of sports commissioners, sports betting regulations, and more.

While most of the hundreds of millions of insurance claims filed each year are resolved through the adjustment process, using alternative dispute resolution mechanisms such as arbitration, mediation, settlement conferences, and appraisal allow both claimants and carriers to avoid trying a dispute in court. Written for attorneys and claim professionals who want to better understand ADR mechanisms, this book also provides general information on insurance claim mediations and arbitrations, dispute resolution of claims involving international parties, and on ethical issues.

Arbitrating Patent Disputes provides a practical, clear, step-by-step guide to arbitration, covering everything from evaluating whether it makes sense to include arbitration in the patent-related agreement, to drafting the clause, pre-hearing preparation, presenting the most robust case during the hearing, enforcing or attacking the award, and handling appeals.

The Law and Practice of United States Arbitration is a comprehensive treatise about the development and practice of arbitration law in the United States. It addresses in detail the recourse to arbitration in domestic matters -- employment, labor, consumer transactions, and business -- and its use in the resolution of international commercial claims. It covers all of the major subject areas in the field and provides practical advice as well as an easy-to-read, clear discussion of the relevant case law. It represents a masterful synthesis of the entire body of arbitration law. It discusses basic concepts and doctrines, the FAA, freedom of contract in arbitration, arbitrability, the enforcement of awards, the use of arbitration in consumer and employment matters, institutional arbitration, and the drafting of arbitration agreements. It speaks of the federalization of the law and growing judicial objections to the use of adhesionary arbitration agreements in the consumer context.

This innovative book proposes a fundamental rethink of the consensual foundation of arbitration and argues that it should become the default mode of resolution in international commercial disputes.The book first discusses the most important arguments against this proposal and responds to them. In particular, it addresses the issue of the legitimacy of arbitrators and the compatibility of the idea with guarantees afforded by European human rights law and US constitutional law. The book then presents several models of non-consensual arbitration that could be implemented to afford neutral adjudication in disputes between parties originating from different jurisdictions, to offer an additional alternative forum in the doctrine of forum non conveniens or to save judicial costs.

A complex and wide-ranging area of law, insolvency incorporates both federal law (bankruptcy) and state laws (assignments, bulk sales, receiverships, workouts, and probates), as well as other aspects that involve both federal and state law. Insolvency Explained is a clearly written, nuts-and-bolts guide useful for lawyers and non-lawyers alike that looks at the basic issues involved and how to handle these situations.

To help you stay organized with your bankruptcy case, this new fifth edition is a quick reference guide for anyone who handles bankruptcy cases. Updated to include the latest and most relevant Code and Rule changes, this resource is organized by chapter of the Bankruptcy Code and includes a list of all of the potential deadlines for you to track your case.

Now revised and expanded, The Family Lawyer's Guide to Bankruptcy is a valuable and concise resource for understanding the sweeping changes to the Bankruptcy Code as it affects divorce and divorcing parties. The Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005 (BAPCPA) made a bankruptcy filing substantially more difficult and eliminated some of the benefits that were available. However, the root causes for the filing of bankruptcy remain: about a quarter of all bankruptcy cases are caused by divorce, often due to the costs of maintaining two households on a single salary, uncovered medical expenses, failing businesses, and job loss. Therefore, there are still situations in a divorce case where a bankruptcy case may be beneficial to both spouses. Extensive appendices provide invaluable forms and resources for the family lawyer with handling a case where a bankruptcy is involved.

The Bankruptcy Handbook for Franchisors and Franchisees explores bankruptcy issues relevant to franchisors and franchisees and the unique challenges that each must address in bankruptcy cases of the other. The chapter authors and editors, all experienced franchise law practitioners, address bankruptcy from every angle, including the different scenarios presented in the most commonly occurrence of a franchisee filing for bankruptcy, versus a franchisor bankruptcy filing.

Published by the Section’s Business Bankruptcy Committee to be used in conjunction with the Model Asset Purchase Agreement, this new guide highlights the differences, includes commentary as a teaching mechanism, and provides ancillary documents and appendices. This new publication is not a stand-alone asset purchase agreement. Instead, it highlights how certain terms and provisions may vary between a bankruptcy and a non-bankruptcy sale and, in some circumstances, provides commentary and case law to explain the reasoning underlying those variations.

The long-hidden diary of a young Polish woman's life during the Holocaust, translated for the first time into English. Renia Spiegel was born in 1924 to an upper-middle class Jewish family living in southeastern Poland, near what was at that time the border with Romania. At the start of 1939 Renia began a diary. "I just want a friend. I want somebody to talk to about my everyday worries and joys. Somebody who would feel what I feel, who would believe me, who would never reveal my secrets. A human being can never be such a friend and that's why I have decided to look for a confidant in the form of a diary." And so begins an extraordinary document of an adolescent girl's hopes and dreams. Like Anne Frank, Renia's diary became a record of her daily life as the Nazis spread throughout Europe. Renia writes of her mundane school life, her daily drama with best friends, falling in love with her boyfriend Zygmund, as well as the agony of missing her mother, separated by bombs and invading armies. Renia had aspirations to be a writer, and the diary is filled with her poignant and thoughtful poetry. Renia's Diary has been translated from the original Polish, and includes a preface, afterword, and notes by her surviving sister, Elizabeth Bellak. An extraordinary historical document, Renia Spiegel survives through the beauty of her words and the efforts of those who loved her and preserved her legacy.

In this culmination of five decades of acclaimed studies in presidential history, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Doris Kearns Goodwin offers an illuminating exploration of the early development, growth, and exercise of leadership. In Leadership in Turbulent Times, Goodwin draws upon the four presidents she has studied most closely--Abraham Lincoln, Theodore Roosevelt, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Lyndon B. Johnson (in civil rights)--to show how they recognized leadership qualities within themselves and were recognized as leaders by others. By looking back to their first entries into public life, we encounter them at a time when their paths were filled with confusion, fear, and hope. The book tells the story of how they all collided with dramatic reversals that disrupted their lives and threatened to shatter forever their ambitions. Nonetheless, they all emerged fitted to confront the contours and dilemmas of their times. No common pattern describes the trajectory of leadership. Although set apart in background, abilities, and temperament, these men shared a fierce ambition and a deep-seated resilience that enabled them to surmount uncommon hardships. At their best, all four were guided by a sense of moral purpose. At moments of great challenge, they were able to summon their talents to enlarge the opportunities and lives of others. This seminal work provides an accessible and essential road map for aspiring and established leaders in every field. In today's polarized world, these stories of authentic leadership in times of apprehension and fracture take on a singular urgency.

Nine years before the Senate campaign that made him one of the most influential and compelling voices in American politics, Barack Obama published this lyrical, unsentimental, and powerfully affecting memoir. Dreams from My Father tells the story of Obama's struggle to understand the forces that shaped him as the son of a black African father and white American mother -- a struggle that takes him from the American heartland to the ancestral home of his great-aunt in the tiny African village of Alego. A searching meditation on the meaning of identity in America, his memoir might be the most revealing portrait we have of a major American leader who has taken a prominent role in healing a fractious and fragmented nation.

In this exploration of Powell's career and character, Christopher D. O'Sullivan reveals several broad themes crucial to American foreign policy and yields insights into the evolution of American foreign and defense policy in the post-Vietnam, post-Cold War eras. O'Sullivan's book not only explains Powell's diplomatic style, it provides crucial insights into the American foreign policy tradition in the modern era.

From one of the world's most admired women, this is Condoleezza Rice's compelling story of eight years serving at the highest levels of government. A native of Birmingham, Alabama who overcame the racism of the Civil Rights era to become a brilliant academic and expert on foreign affairs, Rice distinguished herself in serving as the National Security Advisor and Secretary of State within the Bush Administration. Surprisingly candid in her appraisals of various colleagues and the hundreds of foreign leaders with whom she dealt, Rice also offers here keen insight into how history actually proceeds. In No Higher Honor, she delivers a master class in statecraft -- but always in a way that reveals her essential warmth and humility, and her deep reverence for the ideals on which America was founded.

Gun control, voting rights, family planning, and environmental protection--these are all hot-button issues today, but they were also the same difficult and intractable issues that Senator Joseph D. Tydings of Maryland faced during his tenure in the Senate in the 1960s. In this timely memoir, Tydings looks back on a life of public service, from the Maryland General Assembly to chief federal prosecutor in Maryland and ultimately to the United States Senate. My Life in Progressive Politics provides an important, insider account of a landmark era in American politics.

A public servant and a lawyer, a professor and a father, a Christian and a skeptic, and above all a student of history and human nature, Barack Obama has written a book of transforming power. Only by returning to the principles that gave birth to our Constitution, he says, can Americans repair a political process that is broken, and restore to working order a government that has fallen dangerously out of touch with millions of ordinary Americans. Those Americans are out there, he writes -- "waiting for Republicans and Democrats to catch up with them."

In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America - the first African-American to serve in that role - she helped create the most welcoming and inclusive White House in history, while also establishing herself as a powerful advocate for women and girls in the U.S. and around the world, dramatically changing the ways that families pursue healthier and more active lives, and standing with her husband as he led America through some of its most harrowing moments. In her memoir, a work of deep reflection and mesmerizing storytelling, Michelle Obama invites readers into her world, chronicling the experiences that have shaped her - from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work, to her time spent at the world's most famous address. Warm, wise, and revelatory, Becoming is the deeply personal reckoning of a woman of soul and substance who has steadily defied expectations - and whose story inspires us to do the same.

A riveting memoir of life inside the drug wars, and a never-before-seen glimpse of the inner workings of the DEA, Drug Warrior is a critical examination of how America's opioid crisis came to be, and the extraordinary people fighting it. The book tells the story of Riley's decades-long hunt for the world's most wanted drug lord, set against the rise of modern international drug trafficking, and America's spiraling opioid epidemic. Jack Riley started his career as an undercover street agent in Chicago busting small-time dealers. By the time he worked his way up to second in command of the DEA-a post few field agents ever reach-he had overseen every major mission to capture foreign drug kingpins since the 1990s, and had witnessed first-hand how El Chapo changed the game. As brilliant as he was lethal, Chapo not only decimated his competition, he foresaw Americans' dependence on opioids and heroin, and manipulated supply to increase demand. Riley's story culminates as he and the DEA win their greatest victory - the capture and extradition of his long-time nemesis - and Chapo faces his darkest fear: U.S. justice.

The life and times of a trailblazing feminist in American law. The first female Stanford law professor was also first director of the District of Columbia Public Defender Service, one of the first women to be an Assistant Attorney General of the United States, and the biographer of California's first woman lawyer, Clara Foltz. Survivor, pioneer, leader, and fervent defender of the powerless and colorful mobsters alike, Barbara Babcock led by example and by the written word--and recounts her part of history in this candid and personal memoir.

The Honorable Damon J. Keith was appointed to the federal bench in 1967 and has served as a judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit since 1977, where he has been an eloquent defender of civil and constitutional rights and a vigorous enforcer of civil rights law. In Crusader for Justice: Federal Judge Damon J. Keith, authors Peter J. Hammer and Trevor W. Coleman present the first ever biography of native Detroiter Judge Keith, surveying his education, important influences, major cases, and professional and personal commitments. Judge Keith's forty-five plus years on the bench offer a unique viewpoint on a tumultuous era of American and legal history. Readers interested in Civil Rights-era law, politics, and personalities will appreciate the portrait of Keith's fortitude and conviction.

Benched is a memoir of the life of Federal Judge Jon O. Newman. It is an explanation of what judges really do, a proposal for a better justice system, and a firsthand account of several important cases dealing with topics ranging from terrorism to movie stars. In this title, Newman aims to dispel the popular notion that judges vote based on personal preference. He outlines twenty proposals for improvements in the American system of Justice, covering such diverse topics as police misconduct laws, selection of juries, citizen standing to sue government officials, reviving the independent counsel, and death penalty sentencing.

Since the beginning of the Supreme Court of the United States in 1789, seventeen men have held the Chief Justice position. The first three held the position for a total of eleven years, and the next two (Marshall and Taney) held the Chief Justice position for the next sixty-three years (the two longest chiefs in our history). This book seeks to examine the position of Chief Justice more closely, to describe the position's origins and duties, and explore the court under each of the seventeen chiefs. Exploration includes the background and careers of the chiefs before becoming Chief Justice, discusses the cultural times and puts their rise and tenure in our nation's context, while discussing some of the key associate justices who sat with each of the seventeen. Each chapter also focuses on some key decisions of the Chief Justices' courts.

Before taking her place as the second woman on the Supreme Court of the United States, Ruth Bader Ginsburg quietly led a revolution and forever changed life in America for both men and women. Reserved and quiet, she didn't set out to be a trailblazer, but there was something in her way: the law. Hundreds of years of legal precedent, a line of devastating Supreme Court cases, and countless statutes depriving women of equal citizenship and keeping them from full participation in the legal and political process. Mixing social and legal history with a moving and intimate biography, award-winning author Teri Kanefield captures a turbulent era and tells the story of how Ruth Bader Ginsburg defied expectations to become one of the most influential and powerful women in America.

No member of America's Founding Generation had a greater impact on the Constitution and the Supreme Court than John Marshall, and no one did more to preserve the delicate unity of the fledgling United States. From the nation's founding in 1776 and for the next forty years, Marshall was at the center of every political battle. As Chief Justice of the United States - the longest-serving in history - he established the independence of the judiciary and the supremacy of the federal Constitution and courts. As the leading Federalist in Virginia, he rivaled his cousin Thomas Jefferson in influence. As a diplomat and secretary of state, he defended American sovereignty against France and Britain, counseled President John Adams, and supervised the construction of the city of Washington. D.C. This is the astonishing true story of how a rough-cut frontiersman - born in Virginia in 1755 and with little formal education - invented himself as one of the nation's preeminent lawyers and politicians who then reinvented the Constitution to forge a stronger nation. Without Precedent is the engrossing account of the life and times of this exceptional man, who with cunning, imagination, and grace shaped America's future as he held together the Supreme Court, the Constitution, and the country itself.

From legal expert and veteran author Bryan Garner comes a unique, intimate, and compelling memoir of his friendship with the late Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia. The author's friendship with Justice Scalia was instigated by celebrated writer David Foster Wallace and strengthened over their shared love of language. Despite their differing viewpoints on everything from gun control to the use of contractions, their literary and personal relationship flourished. Justice Scalia even officiated at Garner's wedding. In this humorous, touching, and surprisingly action-packed memoir, Garner gives a firsthand insight into the mind, habits, and faith of one of the most famous and misunderstood judges in the world.

Engaging but caustic and openly ideological, Antonin Scalia was among the most influential justices ever to serve on the United States Supreme Court. In this fascinating new book, legal scholar Richard L. Hasen assesses Scalia's complex legacy as a conservative legal thinker and disruptive public intellectual. The left saw Scalia as an unscrupulous foe who amplified his judicial role with scathing dissents and outrageous public comments. The right viewed him as a rare principled justice committed to neutral tools of constitutional and statutory interpretation. Hasen provides a more nuanced perspective, demonstrating how Scalia was crucial to reshaping jurisprudence on issues from abortion to gun rights to separation of powers. A jumble of contradictions, Scalia promised neutral tools to legitimize the Supreme Court, but his jurisprudence and confrontational style moved the Court to the right, alienated potential allies, and helped to delegitimize the institution he was trying to save.

In this large, comprehensive, revelatory biography, Jane De Hart explores the central experiences that crucially shaped Ruth Bader Ginsburg's passion for justice, her advocacy for gender equality, her meticulous jurisprudence: her desire to make We the People more united and our union more perfect. De Hart captures, in all its richness and complexity, the pioneering life and legal career whose profound mark on American jurisprudence, on American society, on our American character and spirit, will reverberate deep into the twenty-first century and beyond.

Trevor Noah's unlikely path from apartheid South Africa to the desk of The Daily Show began with a criminal act: his birth. Trevor was born to a white Swiss father and a black Xhosa mother at a time when such a union was punishable by five years in prison. Living proof of his parents' indiscretion, Trevor was kept mostly indoors for the earliest years of his life, bound by the extreme and often absurd measures his mother took to hide him from a government that could, at any moment, steal him away. Finally liberated by the end of South Africa's tyrannical white rule, Trevor and his mother set forth on a grand adventure, living openly and freely and embracing the opportunities won by a centuries-long struggle. Born a Crime is the story of a mischievous young boy who grows into a restless young man as he struggles to find himself in a world where he was never supposed to exist. It is also the story of that young man's relationship with his fearless, rebellious, and fervently religious mother--his teammate, a woman determined to save her son from the cycle of poverty, violence, and abuse that would ultimately threaten her own life.

The bestselling author Stephen Carter delves into his past and discovers the inspiring story of his grandmother's extraordinary life. She was black and a woman and a prosecutor, a graduate of Smith College and the granddaughter of slaves, as dazzlingly unlikely a combination as one could imagine in New York of the 1930s -- and without the strategy she devised, Lucky Luciano, the most powerful Mafia boss in history, would never have been convicted. When special prosecutor Thomas E. Dewey selected twenty lawyers to help him clean up the city's underworld, she was the only member of his team who was not a white male. Eunice Hunton Carter was raised in a world of stultifying expectations about race and gender, yet by the 1940s, her professional and political successes had made her one of the most famous black women in America. Moving, haunting, and as fast-paced as a novel, Invisible tells the true story of a woman who often found her path blocked by the social and political expectations of her time. But Eunice Carter never accepted defeat, and thanks to her grandson's remarkable book, her long forgotten story is once again visible.