Orientation to the Library for 1L Students

Includes information on the first-year curriculum, the Socratic and case methods of teaching, effective class participation, the top habits of successful students, study techniques, exam strategies, maintaining well-being, and more. Provides comments law students, reviews of empirical research, and sample documents.

Provides a global overview of the first-year curriculum with individual chapters addressing all of the typical first year subjects.

Provides weekly checklists explaining the skills necessary to successfully navigate their first year of law school. Also includes a bank of over 100 short, medium, and long practice questions in six first year subjects.

Covers the fundamentals of legal analysis, study skills, exam taking, legal writing, and oral advocacy. Also includes a walk-through of documents in a typical lawsuit.

Answers common questions from new law students. Includes questions and model answers from law school exams. Also explains different types of legal practice and upper-level classes and activities such as law journals, law clinics, internships, joint degree programs, and study abroad.

Includes information on how to be your best in class, prepare for and succeed on exams, find teachers to inspire you, cope with stress, and create value in everything you do.

Covers core legal concepts such as precedent and dicta; legal reasoning; and the relationship of policy and the law. Includes psychological tips relating to the study of law.

Discusses using time to your advantage, issue spotting, and organizing your answer. Explains the hidden traps of the IRAC method. It also includes information on non-traditional exam formats, such as open-book or multiple-choice.

Focuses on law school and bar exams rather than the kind of assignments seen in legal writing class. Provides readers with detailed student-written examples of the IRAC method in action. Includes line-by-line critiques of sample essays.

Covers issues such as what to include in an outline, study groups, and swapping outlines. It also discusses strategies for taking exams, such as reading the question, scheduling your time, and organizing your answer.

Includes examples that show students precisely “how to do it” and “how to write it.” Provides detailed analyses of sample answers for different types of exams.

Discusses reading strategies used by expert legal readers. Explains why you read cases, how to read with focus, how to identify the parts of a case, and how to read statutes. Addresses reading on screens. Includes 17 short videos.

Provides basic background information on studying law as well as information specifically designed to help students from marginalized groups to recognize and manage potential barriers to success.

Covers tools for improving your emotional well-being, mental strength, and academic success. Provides a roadmap for thriving mentally, emotionally, and cognitively in law school, in the practice of law, and in life.

Covers professionalism, business etiquette, and soft skills needed to make the most of law school, build and sustain a professional network, and succeed in your job search.